“Safety a Safe Affair??”


I take a train to reach the place where I am currently interning. It takes me 1 hour to reach my destination by train.

It has been a few months now and this is my daily routine.

I usually reach the station 10 minutes before the train’s arrival and by using the Free WiFi (Provided by Google, in collaboration with the government) just read the headlines of the day.

My phone was flooded with the news of Terror attacks in Dhaka, Istanbul and other places. I just couldn’t bear seeing so much terror and innocent people being killed.

I was thinking if places like Paris which are more secure than India are a victim of terror attacks then what is the state of our country? Are we prepared to curb such events in case there was an outburst??

My mind was completely occupied by these terror attacks and i was now trying to find out how such terror attacks occur? whom do they target? How can we prevent them? What are the possible preventive measures can we take to mitigate the loss and minimise the risks? How much are we prepared for?

I looked around me, I scanned the surroundings around me to see how secure we are…..

I was appalled by what I observed. Just the place where I was standing in the railway station had a security checking machine but nobody bothered to walk through it. I mean there are no security checks being performed at all!

Usually, materials which are highly inflammable or explosive in nature are not allowed on a train, then when there is no checking being done by the authorities when the passengers enter the railway station how can they reduce the risk?We have more security checks in a shopping mall, movie theatre than compared to bus stands, railway stations. To prove my point today I went to the railway station to take a few pictures so that I can post them here but the police officer standing there objected to my photography saying I can’t take photos without permission and deleted the pictures I clicked then. So what I understood was you are not allowed to take pictures of the railway station but you can take anything inside it without being bothered to be checked and afraid of anything.

We have more security checks in shopping malls, movie theatre than compared to bus stands, railway stations.

To prove my point today I went to the railway station to take a few pictures so that I can post them here but the police officer standing there objected to my photography saying I can’t take photos without permission and deleted the pictures I clicked then. So what I understood was you are not allowed to take pictures of the railway station but you can take anything inside it without being bothered to be checked and afraid of anything.

It is not just this one case here, the same scenario is present even at several bus stands, railway stations. So does that mean lives of people in trains, railway stations etc in several places not worthy?? why such negligence?

I am not criticising anyone here. The government is really doing a very good job and trying it’s maximum to cut down such events. But is the implementation being done to the lowest level?

When we try to find out the reasons behind these terror attacks all of them point out to only one aspect and that is “Negligence & Recklessness”. It is that act of one or more individuals which cost the people their lives in the terror attacks. When we teach small kids in school that prevention is better than cure, then why are we failing to implement it in reality??

What if something happens and a huge terror attack occurs in India? Are the people ready to face it? Is the country prepared for it?

Who should be blamed for such a terror attack? who should be held responsible? What is the price for such loss? Who is answerable to the victims and to the families who have lost their beloved in the terror attack?

 

 

These are the few pictures I could take at Kacheguda Railway Station and you can see the passengers passing through the entry without any security checks.

Leave a Reply

